Author Event

Lake Forest Academy’s English Department, in partnership with the Lake Forest Book Store, invites you to An Evening of Conversation

Jane Hamilton and Gail Tsukiyama with Dr. Patrick Finnessy, Master Chair in English

Tuesday, April 11 at 7:00 p.m., Book Signing 8:15 p.m. to 8:45 p.m.

The Cressey Center for the Arts

The event is free and open to the public. Seating is first come, first served. Doors open at 6:30 p.m.

Jane Hamilton lives, works, and writes in an orchard farmhouse in Wisconsin. Her short stories have appeared in Harper’s magazine. Her first novel, The Book of Ruth, won the PEN/Ernest Hemingway Foundation Award for best first novel and was a selection of the Oprah Book Club. Her second novel, A Map of the World, was an international bestseller. She is currently on tour with her most recent novel, The Excellent Lombards. Photo Credit: Leslie Brown

Gail Tsukiyama is the bestselling author of seven novels, including Women of the Silk and The Samurai’s Garden, as well as the recipient of the Academy of American Poets Award and the PEN Oakland/Josephine Miles Literary Award. She divides her time between El Cerrito and Napa Valley, California. Photo Credit: Kevin Horan

Dr. Patrick Finnessy is the inaugural recipient of the Dr. Ray Bird Master Chair in English, an endowed position named for a passionate faculty member who inspired both students and faculty during his career at LFA. Dr. Finnessy created the Bird Colloquia to complement the work of an already strong English Department and provide a model within the school for addressing moral courage, the focus of the 2017-2018 Bird Colloquia.

Stephanie Danler at Cellar Gate

Stephanie Danler, author of Sweetbitter

(Vintage $16.00, due April 4th in paperback)

Wednesday April 26 at 6:00 p.m.

Tickets are $36 for glass of wine and appetizers, with book included; cash bar available for additional beverages

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Stephanie Danler will discuss and sign copies of her book Sweetbitter

A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter. Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at "the best restaurant in New York City."

 

Mike Conklin at Lake Forest Book Store

Mike Conklin, author of Goal Fever!

(Authorhouse $13.99)

Thursday May 4 at 6:00 p.m.

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Lake Forest Book Store welcomes back Mike Conklin to discuss his new book Goal Fever!

The tiny Caribbean island nation of Dominica (pop. 73,000) has an identity problem. Often confused for the Dominican Republic, and with its banana-dependent economy shaky at best, it sets an unusual goal to make a mark on the global stage--qualify for the World Cup soccer tournament finals. Much is at stake, but success in international soccer will solve many problems for this tiny island nation that unites in the effort.

Mike Conklin is a veteran journalist, having worked at the Chicago Tribune for 35 years as a columnist, reporter and editor. He left to join the faculty at DePaul University's College of Communication and now works at Lake Forest College in the By The Lake Program in the summers.

Malika Ameen at Lake Forest Book Store

Malika Ameen, author of Sweet Sugar, Sultry Spice: Exotic Flavors to Wake Up Your Baking

(Roost Books, $30.00)

Wednesday March 22 at 6:00 p.m.

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Welcome to a world of exotic spices and flavorings from the warm embrace of clove and ginger to the fiery touch of peppercorns and chiles, from the sensual kiss of cardamom and rose to the surprising sensations of sumac and za'atar.
With encouraging language, invaluable tips, and a passionate approach to flavor, Malika Ameen seeks to push spices beyond the realm of savory to the world of sweet where they can add everything from a delicate whisper to a surprising punch to cakes and tarts, cookies and bars, ice creams and sorbets, barks and brittles, and more. A diverse and accessible collection of spice-enhanced recipes that will transform your baking and awaken your senses--from a classically trained pastry chef.

MALIKA AMEEN is a classically trained pastry chef whose South Asian heritage sparked her love of spices--sweet and savory--in desserts. Her cooking journey has taken her from the East Coast to the West Coast and back to her home in the Midwest. As pastry chef at the legendary hotel Chateau Marmont in Los Angeles, she earned accolades for desserts like her walnut cardamom snowball cookies and her sticky toffee pudding, which she brought with her to her hometown of Chicago, where she opened the acclaimed restaurant Aigre Doux.

Lake Forest Book Store Partnering with Lake Forest/Lake Bluff Historical Society for Author Luncheon with Renée Rosen at MLG Restaurant

Renée Rosen, author of Windy City Blues

(Berkley Books $16.00, due Feb. 28)

Wednesday March 1 at 11:30 a.m.

Tickets are $35 for luncheon with book included.

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Leeba doesn't exactly fit in, but her passion for music is not lost on her neighbor, Leonard Chess, who offers her a job at his new record company. What begins as answering phones and filing becomes much more as Leeba comes into her own as a songwriter and befriends performers like Muddy Waters, Howlin Wolf, Chuck Berry and Etta James. But she also finds love with a black blues guitarist named Red Dupree. Leeba and Red soon find themselves in the middle of the Civil Rights Movement and they discover that, in times of struggle, music can bring people together.

Renée Rosen is the bestselling author of White Collar Girl, What the Lady Wants, Dollface, and Every Crooked Pot. She lives in Chicago. Photo Credit: Charles Osgood Photography

 

Kathleen Rooney at Lake Forest Book Store

Kathleen Rooney, author of Lillian Boxfish Takes a Walk

(St. Martin's Press $25.99, due Jan. 17)

Wednesday February 22 at 6:00 p.m.

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

She took 1930s New York by storm, working her way up writing copy for R.H. Macy's to become the highest paid advertising woman in the country. It was a job that, she says, in some ways saved my life, and in other ways ruined it.

Now it's the last night of 1984 and Lillian, 85 years old but just as sharp and savvy as ever, is on her way to a party. On a walk that takes her over 10 miles around the city, she meets bartenders, bodega clerks, security guards, criminals, children, parents, and parents-to-be, while reviewing a life of excitement and adversity, passion and heartbreak, illuminating all the ways New York has changed and has not.

Kathleen Rooney is a founding editor of Rose Metal Press, an indie nonprofit publisher, and lives in Chicago, where she appeared on New City Lit's list of "Lit 50 15: Who Really Books in Chicago." Her works include poetry and nonfiction, as well as the novel O, Democracy! (2014). Reading with Oprah: The Book Club That Changed America (University of Arkansas, 2005) was her first book.

 

Breakfast Club - Authors will not be present

Young Adult Book Club - For Adults

Please join us!

Enter Title Here

(Disney-Hyperion $17.99)

Tuesday November 29 at 8:30 a.m.

Reshma is the top-ranked senior at her ultra-competitive Silicon Valley high school. If Reshma wants to get into Stanford, and into med school after that, she needs the hook to beat them all.
What's a habitual over-achiever to do? Land herself a literary agent, of course. With her new agent's help scoring a book deal, Reshma knows she'll finally have the key to Stanford.
To make herself a more relatable protagonist, she must start doing all the regular American girl stuff she normally ignores. For starters, she has to make a friend, then get a boyfriend. And she's already planned the perfect ending: after struggling for three hundred pages with her own perfectionism, Reshma will learn that meaningful relationships can be more important than success.

 

 

Where's Waldo Party at Lake Forest Book Store!

Where's Waldo Party at Lake Forest Book Store!

Friday July 31 Grand Prize Drawing at 5:00 p.m.

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Join us for refreshments, games and raffle prizes!

Be sure to make plans to attend the FIND WALDO LOCAL in Lake Forest. Party on July 31st. Waldo will be on hand to draw the winning names for the complete set of Waldo books and other prizes.

Here's a list of the prizes for which we'll be drawing:

Grand prize is "Where's Waldo? The WOW Collection" and smaller prizes are the "Where's Waldo" postcard books and the "Where's Waldo?" Magnificent Mini Book Box. Helander's has also been kind enough to donate a box of stationery!

Pages