Author Event

Independent Bookstore Day

Join us for a day of celebrating your local independent community bookstore

Saturday, April 29th

9:30 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.

Coffee, donuts will be served all day. Raffle prizes will include a gift basket, store gift cards, and 10% off store memberships/renewals.

Local children's author Lori Degman will be at the store for a meet and greet and book signing between 10:30 a.m. to 11:30 am. Books available for purchase.

Meet and Greet and Book Signing with Patrick McCaskey

Join us as we host long-time friend of Lake Forest Book Store and local author Patrick McCaskey for a "Meet and Greet" and book-signing of his latest book, Pilgrimage.

Patrick McCaskey, author of Pilgrimage

Sporting Chance Press, $20.00

Saturday, June 17th at 1:00 p.m. to 2:30 p.m.

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

The third book on Sports and Faith Series by Patrick McCaskey, Pilgrimage explores the various Christian shrines and holy places popularizd by recent days trekkers and seekers. Pilgrimages to such destinations as the Holy Land, Rome, Lourdes, Fatima, the Way of Saint James, Canterbury, Assisi, Guadalupe and others are explored and then related to stories of sports and faith. Like his two other Sports and Faith Series books, Pilgrimage examines the lives of many athletes, coaches, and others who live exemplary lives. Many of the athletes described in this book are young. Their athletic preparation, discipline, conditioning, and spiritual and mental training will help them lead faithful lives,

Patrick McCaskey, born in Evanston, IL,. is the grandson of famed Chicago Bears founder George Halas. Currently he is a Co-Owner, Board Member and a’ Vice President with the Chicago Bears. He has authored five books: Bear with Me: A Family History of George Halas and the Chicago Bears, Sports and Faith: Stories of the Devoted and the Devout, Pillars of the NFL: Coaches Who Have Won Three or More Championships, Sports and Faith: More Stories of the Devoted and the Devout, and Pilgrimage: A Sports and Faith Series Book. Patrick and his wife, Gretchen, have three sons: Ed (maried to Elizabeth), Tom, and Jim. They also have a granddaughter, Grace, and a grandson, Pat.

Lisa Jewell In-Conversation with Local Author Katherine Reay

FIRST U.S. TOUR BY ENGLISH AUTHOR LISA JEWELL!
 
Lisa Jewell, author of I Found You, in-conversation with local author Katherine Reay
 
Atria Books (due April 25, 2017) $26.00
 
Tuesday, June 6, 2017 at 6:00 p.m.
 
Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420
 
 
 
 
Please join Lake Forest Book Store when we host best-selling UK author, Lisa Jewell appearing in-conversation with local author Katherine Reay. Lisa Jewell is celebrating her new novel I Found You (due April 25, 2017).
 

Lisa was born in London studied at Barnet College and Epsom School of Art & Design studying Fashion Illustration and Communication. While working in the fashion industry, she published her first novel, Ralph’s Party, at Penguin books in 1998. It went on to become the best-selling debut novel of that year. She has since written nine novels including the best-seller novels, The Making of Us and Before I Met You. She now lives in north London with her husband and two daughters

 

Author Luncheon with Nickolas Butler at Elawa Farm

Nickolas Butler, author of Hearts of Men

(Ecco, $26.99, due Mar 7)

Wednesday, April 19 at 11:30 a.m.

Tickets are $65 for luncheon with book included.

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Camp Chippewa, 1962. Nelson Doughty, age thirteen, social outcast and overachiever, is the Bugler, sounding the reveille proudly each morning. Yet this particular summer marks the beginning of an uncertain and tenuous friendship with a popular boy named Jonathan.

Over the years, Nelson, irrevocably scarred from the Vietnam War, becomes Scoutmaster of Camp Chippewa, while Jonathan marries, divorces, and turns his father’s business into a highly profitable company. And when something unthinkable happens at a camp get-together with Nelson as Scoutmaster and Jonathan’s teenage grandson and daughter-in-law as campers, the aftermath demonstrates the depths—and the limits—of Nelson’s selflessness and bravery.

Nickolas Butler is the author of the internationally-best selling novel Shotgun Lovesongs and a collection of short stories entitled, Beneath the Bonfire. His short stories, poetry, and non-fiction have appeared in: PloughsharesThe Kenyon Review OnlineThe LumberyardThe Christian Science MonitorNarrativeSixth Finch, and several other publications.

He lives on sixteen acres of land in rural Wisconsin adjacent to a buffalo farm. He is married and has two children.

Lake Forest Academy’s English Department, in partnership with the Lake Forest Book Store, invites you to An Evening of Conversation

Jane Hamilton and Gail Tsukiyama with Dr. Patrick Finnessy, Master Chair in English

Tuesday, April 11 at 7:00 p.m., Book Signing 8:15 p.m. to 8:45 p.m.

The Cressey Center for the Arts

The event is free and open to the public. Seating is first come, first served. Doors open at 6:30 p.m.

Jane Hamilton lives, works, and writes in an orchard farmhouse in Wisconsin. Her short stories have appeared in Harper’s magazine. Her first novel, The Book of Ruth, won the PEN/Ernest Hemingway Foundation Award for best first novel and was a selection of the Oprah Book Club. Her second novel, A Map of the World, was an international bestseller. She is currently on tour with her most recent novel, The Excellent Lombards. Photo Credit: Leslie Brown

Gail Tsukiyama is the bestselling author of seven novels, including Women of the Silk and The Samurai’s Garden, as well as the recipient of the Academy of American Poets Award and the PEN Oakland/Josephine Miles Literary Award. She divides her time between El Cerrito and Napa Valley, California. Photo Credit: Kevin Horan

Dr. Patrick Finnessy is the inaugural recipient of the Dr. Ray Bird Master Chair in English, an endowed position named for a passionate faculty member who inspired both students and faculty during his career at LFA. Dr. Finnessy created the Bird Colloquia to complement the work of an already strong English Department and provide a model within the school for addressing moral courage, the focus of the 2017-2018 Bird Colloquia.

Stephanie Danler at Cellar Gate

Stephanie Danler, author of Sweetbitter

(Vintage $16.00, due April 4th in paperback)

Wednesday April 26 at 6:00 p.m.

Tickets are $36 for glass of wine and appetizers, with book included; cash bar available for additional beverages

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Stephanie Danler will discuss and sign copies of her book Sweetbitter

A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter. Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at "the best restaurant in New York City."

 

Mike Conklin at Lake Forest Book Store

Mike Conklin, author of Goal Fever!

(Authorhouse $13.99)

Thursday May 4 at 6:00 p.m.

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Lake Forest Book Store welcomes back Mike Conklin to discuss his new book Goal Fever!

The tiny Caribbean island nation of Dominica (pop. 73,000) has an identity problem. Often confused for the Dominican Republic, and with its banana-dependent economy shaky at best, it sets an unusual goal to make a mark on the global stage--qualify for the World Cup soccer tournament finals. Much is at stake, but success in international soccer will solve many problems for this tiny island nation that unites in the effort.

Mike Conklin is a veteran journalist, having worked at the Chicago Tribune for 35 years as a columnist, reporter and editor. He left to join the faculty at DePaul University's College of Communication and now works at Lake Forest College in the By The Lake Program in the summers.

Malika Ameen at Lake Forest Book Store

Malika Ameen, author of Sweet Sugar, Sultry Spice: Exotic Flavors to Wake Up Your Baking

(Roost Books, $30.00)

Wednesday March 22 at 6:00 p.m.

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Welcome to a world of exotic spices and flavorings from the warm embrace of clove and ginger to the fiery touch of peppercorns and chiles, from the sensual kiss of cardamom and rose to the surprising sensations of sumac and za'atar.
With encouraging language, invaluable tips, and a passionate approach to flavor, Malika Ameen seeks to push spices beyond the realm of savory to the world of sweet where they can add everything from a delicate whisper to a surprising punch to cakes and tarts, cookies and bars, ice creams and sorbets, barks and brittles, and more. A diverse and accessible collection of spice-enhanced recipes that will transform your baking and awaken your senses--from a classically trained pastry chef.

MALIKA AMEEN is a classically trained pastry chef whose South Asian heritage sparked her love of spices--sweet and savory--in desserts. Her cooking journey has taken her from the East Coast to the West Coast and back to her home in the Midwest. As pastry chef at the legendary hotel Chateau Marmont in Los Angeles, she earned accolades for desserts like her walnut cardamom snowball cookies and her sticky toffee pudding, which she brought with her to her hometown of Chicago, where she opened the acclaimed restaurant Aigre Doux.

Lake Forest Book Store Partnering with Lake Forest/Lake Bluff Historical Society for Author Luncheon with Renée Rosen at MLG Restaurant

Renée Rosen, author of Windy City Blues

(Berkley Books $16.00, due Feb. 28)

Wednesday March 1 at 11:30 a.m.

Tickets are $35 for luncheon with book included.

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Leeba doesn't exactly fit in, but her passion for music is not lost on her neighbor, Leonard Chess, who offers her a job at his new record company. What begins as answering phones and filing becomes much more as Leeba comes into her own as a songwriter and befriends performers like Muddy Waters, Howlin Wolf, Chuck Berry and Etta James. But she also finds love with a black blues guitarist named Red Dupree. Leeba and Red soon find themselves in the middle of the Civil Rights Movement and they discover that, in times of struggle, music can bring people together.

Renée Rosen is the bestselling author of White Collar Girl, What the Lady Wants, Dollface, and Every Crooked Pot. She lives in Chicago. Photo Credit: Charles Osgood Photography

 

Pages