The Oresteia: (Annotated) (Worldwide Classics) (Paperback)

The Oresteia: (Annotated) (Worldwide Classics) By Aeschylus Cover Image
Email or call for price


The Oresteia (Ancient Greek: Ὀρέστεια) is a trilogy of Greek tragedies written by Aeschylus in the 5th century BC, concerning the murder of Agamemnon by Clytemnestra, the murder of Clytemnestra by Orestes, the trial of Orestes, the end of the curse on the House of Atreus and pacification of the Erinyes. The trilogy-consisting of Agamemnon (Ἀγαμέμνων), The Libation Bearers (Χοηφ ρoι), and The Eumenides (Εὐμενίδες)-also shows how the Greek gods interacted with the characters and influenced their decisions pertaining to events and disputes. 1] The only extant example of an ancient Greek theatre trilogy, the Oresteia won first prize at the Dionysia festival in 458 BC. The principal themes of the trilogy include the contrast between revenge and justice, as well as the transition from personal vendetta to organized litigation. 2] Oresteia originally included a satyr play, Proteus (Πρωτεύς), following the tragic trilogy, but all except a single line of Proteus has been lost.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781799040255
ISBN-10: 1799040259
Publisher: Independently Published
Publication Date: March 7th, 2019
Pages: 130
Language: English