By the Great Hornspoon! (Paperback)

By the Great Hornspoon! By Inc. Sid Fleischman Cover Image
$8.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For fans of I Survived and Dear America, this rollicking adventure about the California Gold Rush is a classic from the award-winning author of The Whipping Boy.
 
Jack’s aunt is in trouble—even after she sells her beloved mansion, she still doesn’t have enough money to pay off all her debts, or to take care of twelve-year-old Jack and his two sisters. Luckily Jack has a plan to save the family.
 
He’s going to strike gold. Setting out from Boston with his stuffy but trusty butler, Praiseworthy, the two of them stow away on a ship bound for California—and the Gold Rush. Along the way they’ll meet sailors, miners, outlaws, and wild animals. But will all it be worth it when they hit pay dirt?
 
Full of action, danger, and intrigue, this historic adventure paints a vivid picture of the old west, and continues to entertain children of each new generation.

About the Author


Sid Fleischman grew up in California during the Great Depression. Although he originally wanted to be a magician, he instead became a writer, and wrote over sixty titles for children, including the Newbery Award Winner The Whipping Boy, By the Great Horn Spoon!, and Here Comes McBroom, as well as books for adults, screenplays, and a few books about magic. He passed away in 2010.
 
Brett Helquist is the artist behind the iconic covers and illustrations of the New York Times bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events by Lemony Snicket. He has also illustrated well-loved children’s books by Neil Gaiman, Alan Gratz, and Blue Balliett, among others. Brett majored in illustration at Brigham Young University and now lives with his family in Brooklyn, New York.

Praise For…


This adventure tale, set in the Gold Rush days, is "another uncommonly original...delectable story, told, and illustrated with zest and gusto to the very last page."—The Horn Book
Product Details
ISBN: 9780316286121
ISBN-10: 0316286125
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: April 30th, 1988
Pages: 224
Language: English