Author Events

  • Author Luncheon with Allison Dickson at The Deer Path Inn

    Meet, greet and enjoy lunch with author Allison Dickson at The Deer Path Inn as she celebrates her newest novel.

    THE OTHER MRS. MILLER

    G. P. Putnum's Son  $26.00  Releases July 16, 2019

    Wednesday, July 17, 2019 at 11:30 AM
    at The Deer Path Inn
    255 East Illinois Road

    Lake Forest, IL 60045

    $55 includes book and lunch

    Seating is limited. Reservations required. Call 847-234-4420

    In this unputdownable domestic suspense debut, a lonely suburban housewife finds her life entangled with the family that moves in across the street at the same time that she becomes convinced someone is watching her--perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door and The Last Mrs. Parrish. Once a darling of Chicago's social scene, Phoebe Miller fears she's become irrelevant and cliché just another miserably unfulfilled housewife who drowns her sorrows in chardonnay and ice cream and barely leaves her house. Maybe it's her dark thoughts and fertile imagination that lead her to believe the worst about everything she spies going on in the exclusive suburban cul-de-sac she calls home. But surely that rusty blue sedan that keeps idling by her driveway is a sign that she's being watched. And that new family that just moved in across the street--Dr. Ron Napier, his vivacious wife, Vicki, and their handsome college-bound son, Jake--can't be as perfect as they appear. Especially not with the bruises on Vicki's arms and the fear in Jake's eyes. When a chance introduction to the exuberant Vicki--and a forbidden encounter with Jake--draws her out of her shell and deeper into the Napiers' orbit, Phoebe's life finally gets the infusion of excitement she's been missing. But when anonymous threatening notes begin landing on her doorstep, she'll have to ask herself just how well anyone can truly know their neighbors...and how close to home unforeseen danger sometimes lies.

    Allison Dickson is the author of several independently published horror and dystopian novels. She has also written nearly two dozen short stories, both independently and as part of anthologies. Dickson lives in Dayton, Ohio, and when not writing, she is typically gaming, blogging, or exploring.

    Author photo credit to Ken Dickson

    Event date: 
    Wednesday, July 17, 2019 - 11:30am to 1:30pm
    Event address: 
    The Deer Path Inn
    255 East Illinois Road
    Lake Forest, IL 60045
  • Writer/Producer and China Hand Stewart Lee Beck at Lake Forest Book Store

    Stewart Lee Beck discussed trading and business in China in an in-store event at Lake Forest Book Store

    CHINA SIMPLIFIED: HISTORY FLASHBACK

     C.S. Publishing  $12.88  Available in Paperback

    Better understand modern China with this entertaining journey to the heart of its 5,000-year history. Ideal for business persons who want to raise their China game, students who seek to make deeper cultural connections, and travelers in search of valuable insights into Chinese culture.

     

     

    CHINA SIMPLIFIED: LANGUAGE EMPOWERMENT

    C.S. Publishing  $11.88  Available in Paperback

    An entertaining journey to the heart of the Chinese language to deepen your understanding of China and its people. A must-read for anyone who wants to improve their Mandarin or cultivate better relationships with Chinese worldwide.

     

     

     

    Wednesday, August 21, 2019 at 6:00 pm

    at Lake Forest Book Store

    Books available for purchase and signing

    Refreshments will be served

    Seating is limited, call 847-234-4420

    Stewart Lee Beck is a writer and producer who's lived and worked among the Chinese for 24 years. Stewart has helped raise nearly $15 million for children's charities in China. He refers to his Malaysian-Chinese wife as "the crazy woman who keeps me sane."

    Event date: 
    Wednesday, August 21, 2019 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
    Event address: 
    Lake Forest Book Store
    662 N. Western Ave.
    Lake Forest, IL 60045
  • Author Joshilyn Jackson at Lake Forest Book Store

    Author Joshilyn Jackson joins the staff of Lake Forest Book Store to present her newest novel.

    NEVER HAVE I EVER

    William Morrow & Company  $27.00  Released July 30, 2019

    Thursday, September 12, 2019 at 6:00 PM. - 7:00 PM

    at Lake Forest Book Store

    Books available for purchase and signing

    Refreshments will be served

    Call 847-234-4420

     

    In this game, even winning can be deadly... Amy Whey is proud of her ordinary life and the simple pleasures that come with it--teaching diving lessons, baking cookies for new neighbors, helping her best friend, Charlotte, run their local book club. Her greatest joy is her family: her devoted professor husband, her spirited fifteen-year-old stepdaughter, her adorable infant son. And, of course, the steadfast and supportive Charlotte. But Amy's sweet, uncomplicated life begins to unravel when the mysterious and alluring Angelica Roux arrives on her doorstep one book club night. Sultry and magnetic, Roux beguiles the group with her feral charm. She keeps the wine flowing and lures them into a game of spilling secrets. Everyone thinks it's naughty, harmless fun. Only Amy knows better. Something wicked has come her way--a she-devil in a pricey red sports car who seems to know the terrible truth about who she is and what she once did. When they're alone, Roux tells her that if she doesn't give her what she asks for, what she deserves, she's going to make Amy pay for her sins. One way or another. To protect herself and her family and save the life she's built, Amy must beat the devil at her own clever game, matching wits with Roux in an escalating war of hidden pasts and unearthed secrets. Amy knows the consequences if she can't beat Roux. What terrifies her is everything she could lose if she wins. A diabolically entertaining tale of betrayal, deception, temptation, and love filled with dark twists leavened by Joshilyn Jackson's trademark humor, Never Have I Ever explores what happens when the transgressions of our past come back with a vengeance. 

     

    Joshilyn Jackson is the New York Times bestselling author of seven novels, including Gods in Alabama and A Grown-Up Kind of Pretty. Her books have been translated into a dozen languages. A former actor, Jackson is also an award-winning audiobook narrator. She lives in Decatur, Georgia, with her husband and their two children.

    Author photo credit to Wes Browning

    Event date: 
    Thursday, September 12, 2019 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
    Event address: 
    Lake Forest Book Store
    662 N. Western Avenue
    Lake Forest, IL 60045
  • Luncheon with Author Claire Lombardo at The Deer Path Inn

    Luncheon with author and Oak Park native, Claire Lombardo to celebrates publication of her first novel

    THE MOST FUN WE EVER HAD

    Doubleday Books  $29.00  Releases June 25, 2019

    Wednesday, September 18, 2019 at 11:30 AM to 1:30 PM
    at The Deer Path Inn
    225 East Illinois Road

    Lake Forest, IL 60045

    $55 per person includes lunch and book

    Reservations required. Call 847-234-4420

     

    When Marilyn Connolly and David Sorenson fall in love in the 1970s, they are blithely ignorant of all that's to come. By 2016, their four radically different daughters are each in a state of unrest: Wendy, widowed young, soothes herself with booze and younger men; Violet, a litigator-turned-stay-at-home-mom, battles anxiety and self-doubt when the darkest part of her past resurfaces; Liza, a neurotic and newly tenured professor, finds herself pregnant with a baby she's not sure she wants by a man she's not sure she loves; and Grace, the dawdling youngest daughter, begins living a lie that no one in her family even suspects. Above it all, the daughters share the lingering fear that they will never find a love quite like their parents'. As the novel moves through the tumultuous year following the arrival of Jonah Bendt--given up by one of the daughters in a closed adoption fifteen years before--we are shown the rich and varied tapestry of the Sorensons' past: years marred by adolescence, infidelity, and resentment, but also the transcendent moments of joy that make everything else worthwhile. Spanning nearly half a century, and set against the quintessential American backdrop of Chicago and its prospering suburbs, Lombardo's debut explores the triumphs and burdens of love, the fraught tethers of parenthood and sisterhood, and the baffling mixture of affection, abhorrence, resistance, and submission we feel for those closest to us. In painting this luminous portrait of a family's becoming, Lombardo joins the ranks of writers such as Celeste Ng, Elizabeth Strout, and Jonathan Franzen as visionary chroniclers of our modern lives.

     

    Claire Lombardo earned her MFA in fiction at the Iowa Writers' Workshop. She was born and raised in Oak Park, Illinois. A former social worker, she now teaches fiction writing and is at work on a second novel.

    Event date: 
    Wednesday, September 18, 2019 - 11:30am to 1:30pm
    Event address: 
    The Deer Path Inn
    255 East Illinois Road
    Lake Forest, IL 60045
  • Nationally Recognized Food, Drinks and Travel Author Kristine Hansen at Lake Forest Book Store

    Meet Food, Drinks and Travel author Kristine Hansen as the celebrates her new book featuring Wisconsin cheeses.

    WISCONSIN CHEESE COOKBOOK: CREAMY, CHEESY, SWEET, and SAVORY RECIPES FROM THE STATE'S BEST CREAMERIES
    Globe Pequot Press  $24.00 Released March 1, 2019
     
    Thursday, September 19, 2019 at 6:00 PM

    at Lake Forest Book Store

    Book available for purchase and signing

    Refreshments will be served

    Call 847-234-4420

     
    Grating, Slicing, Baking and Sprinkling Wisconsin's Best Cheeses. Wisconsin's artisan cheese scene is steeped in tradition and bursting with innovations. Local cheesemakers attract visitors from all over the world. Cheese is a huge part of the state's tourist draw and homegrown character. Everyone who calls Wisconsin home or visits for a day will love this book of the best recipes to cook with cheese. Stunning photos and 60 recipes from the 28 creameries featured will include comfort-food staples like pizza, mac 'n cheese and grilled-cheese sandwiches, as well as wow-worthy dinner-party favorites such as mascarpone cheesecake, plus picnic-friendly salads and delicious breakfasts. Noteworthy creameries covered include: Carr Valley Cheese and Emmi Roth in Southwest Wisconsin; BelGioioso Cheese and Sartori in Northeast Wisconsin; Holland's Family Cheese in Northwest Wisconsin; and Clock Shadow Creamery in Southeast Wisconsin.
     
    Based in Milwaukee's Bay View neighborhood, Kristine Hansen is a nationally recognized food, drinks and travel author with articles about Wisconsin's cheese published on Travel + Leisure's website as well as on Fodors.com. Her articles have appeared in TIME Magazine, Cooking Light Magazine, Vogue.com, Today.com, CNN.com, CNTraveler.com and ArchDigest.com. She contributes to Milwaukee Magazine, covering the state's agriculture industry and its many personalities.
     
     
    Event date: 
    Thursday, September 19, 2019 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
    Event address: 
    Lake Forest Book Store
    662 N. Western Avenue
    Lake Forest, IL 60045