Around Town

  • Author John Flanagan at Warren-Newport Public Library

    Join the staff of Lake Forest Book Store for a public presentation and book signing by John Flanagan for his new book at Warren-Newport Public Library in Gurnee.
     
    THE RED FOX CLAN (RANGER'S APPRENTICE: THE ROYAL RANGER) 
    Philomel Books  $18.99  Releases August 21, 2018
     
    Monday, October 1, 2018 at 6:00 PM
    at Warren-Newport Public Library
    224 O'Plaine Road
    Gurnee, IL 60031
    Meeting Room B
     

    Books Available for Purchase and Signing

    For more information or registration visit Warren-Newport Public Library website

    #1 New York Times bestselling author John Flanagan returns to the world of Ranger's Apprentice, continuing the story arc starring fan favorites, Will and Maddie (The Royal Ranger: A New Beginning). Picking up where The Royal Ranger: A New Beginning left off, this next installment continues the story arc featuring young apprentice, Maddie, and the student-turned-master, Will Treaty. The time has come for the next generation to assume the mantle and become protectors of the kingdom of Araluen. After passing her third-year assessment as a ranger's apprentice, Maddie is called home to Castle Araluen. Forced to keep her ranger training a secret, Maddie feels trapped by the monotony of castle life and longs to find a way out. But there are whisperings of a new threat to the kingdom. The mysterious Red Fox Clan, a group of anarchists all donning fox masks, have threatened Castle Araluen and question Princess Cassandra and Madelyn's succession to the throne. Will they succeed in unseating Cassandra and Madelyn and take the throne for themselves? The bestselling author of the Ranger's Apprentice and Brotherband series, John Flanagan, returns in the captivating follow-up to The Royal Ranger: A New Beginning. Perfect for fans of Tolkien, Redwall, and Game of Thrones!
     
    John Flanagan grew up in Sydney, Australia, hoping to be a writer, and after a successful career in advertising and television, he began writing a series of short stories for his son, Michael, in order to encourage him to read. Those stories would eventually become The Ruins of Gorlan, Book 1 of the Ranger’s Apprentice epic. Now with his companion series, Brotherband, the novels of John Flanagan have sold millions of copies and made readers of kids the world over. Mr. Flanagan lives in the suburb of Mosman, Australia, with his wife. In addition to their son, they have two grown daughters and four grandsons. Visit him online at www.worldofjohnflanagan.com.
    Event date: 
    Monday, October 1, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
    Event address: 
    Warren-Newport Public Library
    224 O'Plaine Rd
    Gurnee, IL 60031