Around Town

Where's Waldo is Coming to Lake Forest

REMINDER: The Where's Waldo Party is this Friday, July 28 at 3:00pm in Market Square (weather permitting), otherwise it will be in-store. The winners of the Where's Waldo Search will be drawn during the party. Winner MUST be present.

This year marks the 30th anniversary Where's Waldo and Waldo, the iconic children's book character, is coming to Lake Forest this July to spread the "Buy Local" message. Lake Forest Book Store will be hosting an exciting month-long scavenger hunt to find Waldo in twenty-five participating local businesses. Come into the store and pick up your Waldo Local Passport with the names of the participating merchants. Visit each merchant during the month of July and find the displayed Waldo standee, then have your passport stamped or signed. Throughout the month there will be prizes awarded to the players and on Friday, July 28th, there will be a big Waldo celebration to celebrate.

Lake Forest Sidewalk Sale Days

Shop Lake Forest Book Store during the Lake Forest Sidewalk Sale running July 20th through July 22nd for an amazing selection of books, gifts, cards and toys up to 50% off! 

DURING SIDEWALK SALE DAYS ...

Spend $50 and enter to win $250!

During SIDEWALK SALE DAYS (July 20-22), Lake Forest Book Store will give you an entry for every $50 you spend in the store. You'll be entered to win $250 in Chamber checks redeemable at various shops and eateries in our towns. Winner will be announced on July 26.   Good luck!

 

 

 

 

 

A Conversation with Ruth Ozeki

Ruth Ozeki’s A Tale for the Time Being has been selected as the title for 2017’s Lake Forest Reads: Ragdale, a one book/one community program.

Lake Forest Reads: Ragdale 2017 will culminate with our main event, A Conversation with Ruth Ozeki, ​moderated by Professor of English Davis Schneiderman, Associate Dean of the Faculty, Lake Forest College. 

Thursday, October 26, 2017 at 7:00 PM

Event is free but requires registration at www.lakeforestreadsragdale.org

First 20 adults to register for the Summer Reading Program at Lake Forest Library will receive a copy of A Tale for the Time Being

About the book:​ Two characters narrate a Tale for the Time Being; a sixteen-year-old Japanese-American girl living in Tokyo and keeping a diary, and a Japanese-American writer living on an island off British Columbia who finds the diary washed up on the shore after the tsunami in 2011. The Seattle Times called it “a terrific novel that explores quantum physics, military applications of computer video games, Internet bullying and Marcel Proust as well, all while creating a vulnerable and unique voice for the 16-year-old girl at its center. Ozeki has produced a dazzling and humorous work of literary origami.”

About the program: ​Lake Forest Reads: Ragdale is a one book/one community program that fosters a culture of reading and a sense of community in our city. Each year a title is selected from the works of writers affiliated with the Ragdale Foundation, the artists’ residency that has supported authors and their creative process for over 35 years. Program partners create events to help the community deepen their understanding of the chosen book title and encourage discussions in the community. Program Partners include the ​Lake Forest Library, Friends of Lake Forest Library, Lake Forest College, and the Ragdale Foundation. The Lake Forest Book Store is the official bookstore of Lake Forest Reads: Ragdale.

About the author: Ruth Ozeki is a novelist, filmmaker, and Zen Buddhist priest. She is the award-winning author of three novels, My Year of MeatsAll Over Creation, and A Tale for the Time Being, which was shortlisted for the Booker Prize and the National Book Critics Circle Award. Her critically acclaimed independent films, including Halving the Bones, have been screened at Sundance and aired on PBS. She is affiliated with the Brooklyn Zen Center and the Everyday Zen Foundation. She lives in British Columbia and New York City.

Author Dinner with David McAninch at Froggy's French Cafe

Start your Spring Break early! Escape to Gascony, France with the author David McAninch for the release of his memoir, Duck Season.

(Harper/HarperCollins, $28.99, due March 7, 2017)

Tuesday, March 14 at 6:30 p.m.

Tickets are $45 for dinner. Book is not included but can be purchased prior to the event for 15% Book Club discount. Book available at event for full price.

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Duck Season: a debut memoir about eight months of French culinary delights. In 2012, food writer and Chicago Magazine features editor McAninch was sent on assignment to Gascony, a fertile agricultural region bordering the Pyrenees in southwest France, to write a piece about duck. Although he had passed through the area on other visits, this time the “card-carrying Francophile” was smitten. Everything about Gascony entranced him…. Photo Credit: Romeo Oros

Author Luncheon with Lisa See at Froggy's (SOLD OUT! WAITING LIST ONLY!)

Lisa See, author of The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane

Scribner Book Company $27.00 

Tuesday April 4 at 11:30 a.m.

Tickets are $60 for luncheon with book included

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Join us in welcoming Lisa See as she discusses her new novel!

In a new novel that's classic See, Li-yan is one of the few young women beginning to move beyond the confines of her mountain village. Still, she can't keep the baby she has out of wedlock, instead wrapping her up and leaving her in a nearby city. While Li-yan enters modern life and daughter Haley, rescued and adopted, grows up a happy California girl, each wonders about the other. - Library Journal

Lisa See is the New York Times bestselling author of The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, Peony in Love, Shanghai Girls, China Dolls, and Dreams of Joy, which debuted at #1. Ms. See is also the author of On Gold Mountain, which tells the story of her Chinese American family's settlement in Los Angeles.

Lake Forest Academy’s English Department, in partnership with the Lake Forest Book Store, invites you to An Evening of Conversation

Jane Hamilton and Gail Tsukiyama with Dr. Patrick Finnessy, Master Chair in English

Tuesday, April 11 at 7:00 p.m., Book Signing 8:15 p.m. to 8:45 p.m.

The Cressey Center for the Arts

The event is free and open to the public. Seating is first come, first served. Doors open at 6:30 p.m.

Jane Hamilton lives, works, and writes in an orchard farmhouse in Wisconsin. Her short stories have appeared in Harper’s magazine. Her first novel, The Book of Ruth, won the PEN/Ernest Hemingway Foundation Award for best first novel and was a selection of the Oprah Book Club. Her second novel, A Map of the World, was an international bestseller. She is currently on tour with her most recent novel, The Excellent Lombards. Photo Credit: Leslie Brown

Gail Tsukiyama is the bestselling author of seven novels, including Women of the Silk and The Samurai’s Garden, as well as the recipient of the Academy of American Poets Award and the PEN Oakland/Josephine Miles Literary Award. She divides her time between El Cerrito and Napa Valley, California. Photo Credit: Kevin Horan

Dr. Patrick Finnessy is the inaugural recipient of the Dr. Ray Bird Master Chair in English, an endowed position named for a passionate faculty member who inspired both students and faculty during his career at LFA. Dr. Finnessy created the Bird Colloquia to complement the work of an already strong English Department and provide a model within the school for addressing moral courage, the focus of the 2017-2018 Bird Colloquia.

Stephanie Danler at Cellar Gate

Stephanie Danler, author of Sweetbitter

(Vintage $16.00, due April 4th in paperback)

Wednesday April 26 at 6:00 p.m.

Tickets are $36 for glass of wine and appetizers, with book included; cash bar available for additional beverages

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Stephanie Danler will discuss and sign copies of her book Sweetbitter

A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter. Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at "the best restaurant in New York City."

 

Lake Forest Book Store Partnering with Lake Forest/Lake Bluff Historical Society for Author Luncheon with Renée Rosen at MLG Restaurant

Renée Rosen, author of Windy City Blues

(Berkley Books $16.00, due Feb. 28)

Wednesday March 1 at 11:30 a.m.

Tickets are $35 for luncheon with book included.

Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

Leeba doesn't exactly fit in, but her passion for music is not lost on her neighbor, Leonard Chess, who offers her a job at his new record company. What begins as answering phones and filing becomes much more as Leeba comes into her own as a songwriter and befriends performers like Muddy Waters, Howlin Wolf, Chuck Berry and Etta James. But she also finds love with a black blues guitarist named Red Dupree. Leeba and Red soon find themselves in the middle of the Civil Rights Movement and they discover that, in times of struggle, music can bring people together.

Renée Rosen is the bestselling author of White Collar Girl, What the Lady Wants, Dollface, and Every Crooked Pot. She lives in Chicago. Photo Credit: Charles Osgood Photography

 

Renée Rosen at Warren-Newport Public Library

Renée Rosen, author of Windy City Blues

(Berkley Books $16.00, due Feb. 28)

Saturday March 18 at 2:00 p.m.

Register at Warren-Newport Public Library or call 847-244-5150

The bestselling author of White Collar Girl and What the Lady Wants explores one woman's journey of self-discovery set against the backdrop of a musical and social revolution. In the middle of the twentieth century, the music of the Mississippi Delta arrived in Chicago, drawing the attention of entrepreneurs like the Chess brothers. Their label, Chess Records, helped shape that music into the Chicago Blues, the soundtrack for a transformative era in American History. But, for Leeba Groski, Chess Records was just where she worked...

Renée Rosen is the bestselling author of White Collar Girl, What the Lady Wants, Dollface, and Every Crooked Pot. She lives in Chicago. Photo Credit: Charles Osgood Photography

Barbara Rinella as The Accidental Empress at Gorton Theater

Book Dramatization with Barbara Rinella featuring:

The Accidental Empress

(Howard Books $26.00)

Wednesday September 30 at 3:30 p.m. (Doors open at 3:00 p.m.)

The Friends of Lake Forest Library sponsor this event each year as a thank you to the community for its support of the Fall Book Sale.

New York Times bestselling author Allison Pataki follows up on her critically acclaimed debut novel, The Traitor's Wife, with the little-known and tumultuous love story of "Sisi" the Austro-Hungarian Empress and captivating wife of Emperor Franz Joseph. Thrust onto the throne of Europe's most treacherous imperial court, Sisi upsets political and familial loyalties in her quest to win, and keep, the love of her emperor, her people, and of the world.
With Pataki's rich period detail and cast of complex, bewitching characters, The Accidental Empress offers a captivating glimpse into one of history's most intriguing royal families, shedding new light on the glittering Hapsburg Empire and its most mesmerizing, most beloved "Fairy Queen."

 

Pages