Author Events

  • Author Allison Pataki at Lake Forest Book Store

    Join Allison Pataki at Lake Forest Book Store as she presents her moving new book Beauty in the Broken Places.

    BEAUTY IN THE BROKEN PLACES: A MEMOIR OF LOVE, FAITH, AND RESILIANCE
    Random House  $26.00  Release May 1, 2018
     
    Friday, May 11th at 6:00 PM

    at Lake Forest Book Store

    Refreshments will be served.

    Register at 847-234-4420

    A deeply moving memoir about a young couple whose lives were changed in the blink of an eye, and the love that helped them rewrite their future. Five months pregnant, on a flight to their "babymoon," Allison Pataki turned to her husband when he asked if his eye looked strange and watched him suddenly lose consciousness. After an emergency landing, she discovered that Dave--a healthy thirty-year-old athlete and surgical resident--had suffered a rare and life-threatening stroke. Next thing Allison knew, she was sitting alone in the ER in Fargo, North Dakota, waiting to hear if her husband would survive the night. When Dave woke up, he could not carry memories from hour to hour, much less from one day to the next. Allison had lost the Dave she knew and loved when he lost consciousness on the plane. Within a few months, she found herself caring for both a newborn and a sick husband, struggling with the fear of what was to come. As a way to make sense of the pain and chaos of their new reality, Allison started to write daily letters to Dave. Not only would she work to make sense of the unfathomable experiences unfolding around her, but her letters would provide Dave with the memories he could not make on his own. She was writing to preserve their past, protect their present, and fight for their future. Those letters became the foundation of this beautiful, intimate memoir. And in the process, she fell in love with her husband all over again. This is a manifesto for living, an ultimately uplifting story about the transformative power of faith and resilience. It's a tale of a man's turbulent road to recovery, the shifting nature of marriage, and the struggle of loving through pain and finding joy in the broken places.

    Allison Pataki is the author of the bestselling novels Sisi, The Traitor's Wife, and The Accidental Empress, as well as the co-author of Where the Light Falls, with her brother Owen Pataki, and two children's books. Her novels have been translated into more than a dozen languages. Pataki and her husband, Dave Levy, are passionate about raising awareness of the difficulties of life after a stroke or traumatic brain injury. The daughter of former New York State governor George E. Pataki, Allison Pataki graduated cum laude from Yale University and lives in New York City with her family.

    Event date: 
    Friday, May 11, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
    Event address: 
    Lake Forest Book Store
    662 N. Western Ave.
    Lake Forest, IL 60045
  • Author Michael Zadoorian at Lake Forest Book Store

    Join us at Lake Forest Book Store in Welcoming author Micheal Zadoorian as he celebrates the release of his new novel entitled Beautiful Music

    BEAUTIFUL MUSIC
    Alkashic Books $29.00 Releases May 1, 2018
     
    Friday, May 18th at 6:00 pm
    at Lake Forest Book Store
     

    Books available for purchase and signing

    Call 847-234-4420 to register

    Set in early 1970s Detroit, a racially divided city still reeling from its violent riot of 1967, Beautiful Music is the story of one young man’s transformation through music. Danny Yzemski is a husky, pop radio–loving loner balancing a dysfunctional home life with the sudden harsh realities of freshman year at a high school marked by racial turbulence. But after tragedy strikes the family, Danny’s mother becomes increasingly erratic and angry about the seismic cultural shifts unfolding in her city and the world. As she tries to hold it together with the help of Librium, highballs, and breakfast cereal, Danny finds his own reason to carry on: rock ‘n’ roll. In particular, the drum and guitar–heavy songs of local legends like the MC5 and Iggy Pop. In the vein of Nick Hornby and Tobias Wolff, yet with a style very much Zadoorian’s own, Beautiful Music is a touching story about the power of music and its ability to save one’s soul.

    Michael Zadoorian is the author of the critically praised The Leisure Seeker--now a film starring Helen Mirren and Donald Sutherland, to be released by Sony Pictures Classics in 2018. Zadoorian is a recipient of a Kresge Artist Fellowship in the Literary Arts, the Columbia University Anahid Literary Award, the Great Lakes Colleges Association New Writers Award, and the Michigan Notable Book Award. His other books are Second Hand: A Novel, and the story collection The Lost Tiki Palaces of Detroit. His fiction has appeared in the Literary Review, Beloit Fiction Journal, American Short Fiction, Witness, Great Lakes Review, and the North American Review. He lives with his wife in the Detroit area.

    Author photo by John Roe of Roe Photo

    Event date: 
    Friday, May 18, 2018 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
    Event address: 
    Lake Forest Book Store
    662 N. Western Ave.
    Lake Forest, IL 60045