Around Town

  • Lake Forest Book Store Partnering with Lake Forest/Lake Bluff Historical Society for Author Luncheon with Renée Rosen at MLG Restaurant

    Renée Rosen, author of Windy City Blues

    (Berkley Books $16.00, due Feb. 28)

    Wednesday March 1 at 11:30 a.m.

    Tickets are $35 for luncheon with book included.

    Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

    Leeba doesn't exactly fit in, but her passion for music is not lost on her neighbor, Leonard Chess, who offers her a job at his new record company. What begins as answering phones and filing becomes much more as Leeba comes into her own as a songwriter and befriends performers like Muddy Waters, Howlin Wolf, Chuck Berry and Etta James. But she also finds love with a black blues guitarist named Red Dupree. Leeba and Red soon find themselves in the middle of the Civil Rights Movement and they discover that, in times of struggle, music can bring people together.

    Renée Rosen is the bestselling author of White Collar Girl, What the Lady Wants, Dollface, and Every Crooked Pot. She lives in Chicago. Photo Credit: Charles Osgood Photography

     

    Event date: 
    Wednesday, March 1, 2017 - 11:30am to 2:00pm
    Event address: 
    MLG Restaurant
    181 E. Laurel Ave.
    Lake Forest, IL 60045
  • Author Dinner with David McAninch at Froggy's French Cafe

    Start your Spring Break early! Escape to Gascony, France with the author David McAninch for the release of his memoir, Duck Season.

    (Harper/HarperCollins, $28.99, due March 7, 2017)

    Tuesday, March 14 at 6:30 p.m.

    Tickets are $45 for dinner. Book is not included but can be purchased prior to the event for 15% Book Club discount. Book available at event for full price.

    Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

    Duck Season: a debut memoir about eight months of French culinary delights. In 2012, food writer and Chicago Magazine features editor McAninch was sent on assignment to Gascony, a fertile agricultural region bordering the Pyrenees in southwest France, to write a piece about duck. Although he had passed through the area on other visits, this time the “card-carrying Francophile” was smitten. Everything about Gascony entranced him…. Photo Credit: Romeo Oros

    Event date: 
    Tuesday, March 14, 2017 - 6:30pm
    Event address: 
    Froggy's French Cafe
    306 Greenbay Road
    Highwood, IL 60040
  • Renée Rosen at Warren-Newport Public Library

    Renée Rosen, author of Windy City Blues

    (Berkley Books $16.00, due Feb. 28)

    Saturday March 18 at 2:00 p.m.

    Register at Warren-Newport Public Library or call 847-244-5150

    The bestselling author of White Collar Girl and What the Lady Wants explores one woman's journey of self-discovery set against the backdrop of a musical and social revolution. In the middle of the twentieth century, the music of the Mississippi Delta arrived in Chicago, drawing the attention of entrepreneurs like the Chess brothers. Their label, Chess Records, helped shape that music into the Chicago Blues, the soundtrack for a transformative era in American History. But, for Leeba Groski, Chess Records was just where she worked...

    Renée Rosen is the bestselling author of White Collar Girl, What the Lady Wants, Dollface, and Every Crooked Pot. She lives in Chicago. Photo Credit: Charles Osgood Photography

    Event date: 
    Saturday, March 18, 2017 - 2:00pm to 3:30pm
    Event address: 
    Warren-Newport Public Library
    224 N. O'Plaine Road
    Gurnee, IL 60031
  • Author Luncheon with Lisa See at Froggy's

    Lisa See, author of The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane

    (Scribner Book Company $27.00, due March 21)

    Tuesday April 4 at 11:30 a.m.

    Tickets are $60 for luncheon with book included

    Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

    Join us in welcoming Lisa See as she discusses her new novel!

    In a new novel that's classic See, Li-yan is one of the few young women beginning to move beyond the confines of her mountain village. Still, she can't keep the baby she has out of wedlock, instead wrapping her up and leaving her in a nearby city. While Li-yan enters modern life and daughter Haley, rescued and adopted, grows up a happy California girl, each wonders about the other. - Library Journal

    Lisa See is the New York Times bestselling author of The Tea Girl of Hummingbird Lane, Snow Flower and the Secret Fan, Peony in Love, Shanghai Girls, China Dolls, and Dreams of Joy, which debuted at #1. Ms. See is also the author of On Gold Mountain, which tells the story of her Chinese American family's settlement in Los Angeles.

    Event date: 
    Tuesday, April 4, 2017 - 11:30am to 2:00pm
    Event address: 
    Froggy's French Cafe
    306 Greenbay Road
    Highwood, IL 60040
  • Lake Forest Academy’s English Department, in partnership with the Lake Forest Book Store, invites you to An Evening of Conversation

    Jane Hamilton and Gail Tsukiyama with Dr. Patrick Finnessy, Master Chair in English

    Tuesday, April 11 at 7:00 p.m., Book Signing 8:15 p.m. to 8:45 p.m.

    The Cressey Center for the Arts

    The event is free and open to the public. Seating is first come, first served. Doors open at 6:30 p.m.

    Jane Hamilton lives, works, and writes in an orchard farmhouse in Wisconsin. Her short stories have appeared in Harper’s magazine. Her first novel, The Book of Ruth, won the PEN/Ernest Hemingway Foundation Award for best first novel and was a selection of the Oprah Book Club. Her second novel, A Map of the World, was an international bestseller. She is currently on tour with her most recent novel, The Excellent Lombards. Photo Credit: Leslie Brown

    Gail Tsukiyama is the bestselling author of seven novels, including Women of the Silk and The Samurai’s Garden, as well as the recipient of the Academy of American Poets Award and the PEN Oakland/Josephine Miles Literary Award. She divides her time between El Cerrito and Napa Valley, California. Photo Credit: Kevin Horan

    Dr. Patrick Finnessy is the inaugural recipient of the Dr. Ray Bird Master Chair in English, an endowed position named for a passionate faculty member who inspired both students and faculty during his career at LFA. Dr. Finnessy created the Bird Colloquia to complement the work of an already strong English Department and provide a model within the school for addressing moral courage, the focus of the 2017-2018 Bird Colloquia.

    Event date: 
    Tuesday, April 11, 2017 - 7:00pm to 8:45pm
    Event address: 
    The Cressey Center for the Arts
    1500 Kennedy Road
    Lake Forest, IL 60045
  • Stephanie Danler at Cellar Gate

    Stephanie Danler, author of Sweetbitter

    (Vintage $16.00, due April 4 in paper)

    Wednesday April 26 at 6:00 p.m.

    Tickets are $36 for glass of wine and appetizers, with book included; cash bar available for additional beverages

    Register at Lake Forest Book Store 847-234-4420

    Stephanie Danler will discuss and sign copies of her book Sweetbitter

    A thrilling novel of the senses and a coming-of-age tale, following a small-town girl into the electrifying world of New York City and the education of a lifetime at one of the most exclusive restaurants in Manhattan. Perfect for readers of Kitchen Confidential and Blood, Bones and Butter. Twenty-two, and knowing no one, Tess leaves home to begin her adult life in New York City. Thus begins a year that is both enchanting and punishing, in a low-level job at "the best restaurant in New York City."

     

    Event date: 
    Wednesday, April 26, 2017 - 6:00pm to 7:00pm
    Event address: 
    Cellar Gate Wine Bar
    524 Sheridan Road
    Highwood, IL 60040